Some of the highlights of the 40th Anniversary celebrations

Club’s 40th Anniversary Year declared ‘a great success’

In his annual report to the AGM on 30th March,  Commodore Pete Thornley said the club’s 40th Anniversary year had been a great success, both on the sailing and social fronts.   (See Commodore's Report here). He thanked everyone who had contributed.  Pete also detailed Welly sailing successes at away events, introduced a revised Club Handbook,  and talked about the future of the club and the need to attract new members.

Race Officer, Phil Walter, made the presentations for the 2013/14 season (see the full list of AGM Trophy Presentations 2013-2014 Season here) and said only one weekend had been lost due to floods at Stanborough.  An average of 11 boats had sailed each Saturday in the Winter Handicap and Burgee Series, and 12 in the Winter Pursuit series.

Line-up of the 2013/14 trophy winners at the AGM

Annette Walter named as Helm of the Year

Congratulations to Annette Walter who was named as the club’s new Helm of the Year, having taken five series wins during the season – Spring Handicap, Summer Handicap, Winter Handicap, Spring/Summer Pursuit and Burgee!  ( Earlier, Pete revealed she’d also won the Ladies Prize in the Comet Nationals 2013 with a 10th place out of 33, and come 1st in the Hawley Lake Comet Open).  

Comet sailor Graham Hunt is Most Improved Helm 

New Comet sailor on the lake - Graham Hunt - reduced his Personal Handicap during the 13/14 season by such a margin that Race Officer Phil, awarded him the Most Improved Helm trophy.

Julian Gunnell tops Fast Fleet in his first season back in action 

In his first full season in his beloved Phantom dinghy ‘Mid Life Crisis’,  Julian Gunnell swept the board in the fast fleet winter handicap and winter pursuit series, taking two 1sts.  He also chalked up a 3rd place in the winter Burgee series.

A surprise trophy for Dave Lambert

Supernova sailor Dave Lambert, was genuinely surprised and delighted when he heard he’d won the much coveted Alan Maurice Personal Handicap Trophy in the Burgee series.  “I honestly had no idea!”, he said afterwards.

Welly Clubmanship Trophy goes to Ian Stringer

There was much applause when Commodore Pete Thornley announced he’d chosen Ian Stringer for the Clubmanship award.  He explained: “This trophy is awarded to someone who has made a contribution to the club over and above what might be normally expected.  I really need at least six of these, and many of the same people would be candidates year after year.  Their names are already on trophy.  My choice this year is our Treasurer of many years, Ian Stringer, who performs a vital role quietly, efficiently and reliably.”

Matt Cory takes the trophy for Best Youth

Youth Fleet Captain, Matt Cory couldn’t be at the AGM due to A level revision commitments, but in his absence, he was awarded the Best Youth Trophy for his overall performance, both on and off the water.  Not only has his Stanborough sailing gone from strength to strength, last year he led the Welly Youth Team (above) at Little Paxton to a creditable second place in their class in the 24 hour RNLI marathon.  He’s also been an enthusiastic participant in Welly Challenges, has been happy to turn out in fancy dress at the Christmas Pud Regatta, and been a first class hustler selling raffle tickets!  In 2013 Matt also qualified as a Finesse instructor at Stanborough.  We wish him well at university.   His younger brother Jim, was elected as the new Youth Fleet Captain for the 2014/15 season.

Tony Hale and Julian Gunnell join the committee

Leader sailor, Tony Hale, and Phantom sailor, Julian Gunnell, volunteered ... or were strong-armed ... into joining the committee!

Thoughts of our dear friend Stan Grace, who died on February 14th, were uppermost at the AGM.

Return to Home Page or Archived News